Britain on Film: Railways

About the Tour

ICO Tour – Railways

Your chance to travel back to a time when travelling by rail was comfortable, punctual and maybe even glamorous!

Britain on Film: Railways is a major new collection of rare archive films charting the history of the UK’s railways and bringing home the romance and heady freedoms offered by train travel as it expanded across the country in the early 20th century.

An immensely nostalgic and evocative collection of films, this programme documents not just the glories of the railway, but also the changing social, political and economic climates of the 20th century. Check out the films in the programme here.

Please note: the programme contains a sequence of flashing lights which might affect audience members with photosensitive epilepsy.

To find out how to book the film for your community (starting from as little as £20) click here.

Map of Featured Films

Screenings

  • Belper, The Ritz Cinema, Sun 27 November 2016
  • Derby, Derby QUAD, Sun 15 – Tue 17 January 2017
  • Fulstow, Lincolnshire Wolds Railway Society, Sat 9 September 2017
  • Market Harborough, Harborough Railway Association, Wed 1 February 2017 (Members only event)
  • Melton Mowbray, Regal Cinema, Sun 27 November 2016
  • Newark-on-Trent, Carlton-on-Trent Village Hall, Sun 26 February 2017
  • Nottingham, BroadWay Cinema, thu 23 February 2017
  • Spalding, South Holland Arts Centre, Sat 18 March 2017
  • Stamford, Stamford Arts Centre, Fri 5 May 2017
  • Wicksworth, Northern Light Cinema,  Sun 30 July 2017
  • Croydon and South London Branch, Railway Correspondence & Travel Society, Mon 11 September 2017
  • Das Kino, Sun 20 November 2016
  • Deptford Cinema, Wed 30 November 2016
  • Friends of the National Railway Museum, Mon 13 March 2017
  • Southwark Local History Library & Archive, Mon 2 January 2017 (Members only event)
  • Stanley’s Film Club, Sun 19 March 2017