Britain on FIlm: Rural Life

About the Tour

ICO Tour – Rural Life

Travel off the beaten track and take in the landscapes and lives of our rural past!

Britain on Film: Rural Life takes audiences down the country lanes of the past, meandering through the dwindling customs of another era. Relive the work of the local blacksmith preparing shoes for the horses that will plough the fields, and the shepherd’s trials as he protects his flock from an encroaching storm. Be swept up in the homemade entertainment and giggles of children at the country fair and the joyful freedoms of the dance in the village hall.

Touching on all the technological, industrial and social changes that affected our countryside throughout the 20th century, these films evoke and encourage not only nostalgia, but also broader and more meaningful reflections on the nature of rural life and village communities in the UK today. Check out the films in the programme here.

Don’t see any screenings in your local area? To find out how to book the film for your community (starting from as little as £20) click here.

Map of featureD films

Screenings

  • Newark-On-Trent, Carlton on Trent Village Hall, Sun 16 July 2017
  • Northampton, Hannington Heritage Group, Wed 25 October 2017
  • Stamford, Stamford Arts Centre, Thurs 16 March 2017
  • Eltisley, Eltisley History Society, Wed 24 May 2017 (Private Screening)
  • Haverhill, Haverhill Arts Centre, Tue 26 June 2017
  • Maldon. Friends of St George’s Church, Tue 9 May 2017
  • Three Holes, Three Holes Village Hall, Sun 3 August 2017
  • BFI Southbank, Mon 10 July 2017
  • Deptford Cinema, Thu 23 February 2017
  • Shadforth, Films at Shadforth, Sun 5 March 2017
  • Tarvin, Tarvin Civic Trust, Tue 12 December 2017
  • Penrith, Alhambra, Tue 7 May 2017
  • Tarvin, Tarvin Civic Trust, Tue 12 December 2017
  • Ulverston, Oxen Park Cinema Club, Sat 25 March 2017
  • Holywood, Ulster Folk and Tranport Museum, Wed 25 January 2017
  • Belfast, Queen’s Film Theatre, 23 April 2017
  • Inverness,Eden Court Theatre, Sat 8 and Sun 9 April 2017
  • Abindgom, Pendon Museum, Sat 28 October 2017
  • Banbury, History Group of Banbury and District U3A, Tue 19 September 2017
  • Chichester,New Park Cinema, Sun 19 and Wed 22 February 2017
  • Crowborough, Crowborough Festival, 11 May 2017
  • Guildford, St. Nicholas Community Centre, Thu 9 November 2017
  • Hartley Wintney, Hartley Wintney U3a, Tue 7 November 2017
  • Lingfield. Lingfield and Dormansland Community Centre, Mon 2 October 2017
  • Southwater, Southwater Village Hall, Wed 8 March 2017
  • Thatcham, Thatcham Town Council, Fri 13 October 2017
  • Avebury, Avebury Social Centre, Thu 30 March 2017
  • Bodmin, Carn to Cove, Fri 26 – Sat 27 January 2018
  • Clevedon, Curzon Community Cinema, Fri 8 September 2017
  • Crewkerne, Haselbury Plucknett Women’s Institute, Mon 9 October 2017
  • Cullompton, Butterleigh Village Hall, Sat 14 October 2017
  • Culmstock, Culmstock Village Hall, Sat 13 May 2017
  • Dartington, The Barn, Sun 26 March 2017
  • Exeter, Devon Federation of Women’s Institutes, Tue 26 September 2017
  • Ivybridge, The Watermark, Wed 8 February 2017
  • Street. Strode theatre, Sun 14 May 2017
  • Salisbury, Salisbury Arts Centre, Wed 22 November 2017
  • Taunton, Stoke St Gregory WI. Tue 13 June 2017
  • Tewkesbury, The Roses Theatre, Mon 26 – Wed 28 June 2017
  • Tiverton, Washfield Memorial Hall, Fri 29 September 2017
  • Tiverton, Stoodleigh Parish Hall, Fri 24 November 2017
  • uPTON pYNE, uPTON pYNE vILLAGE hALL, sAT 2 sEPTEMEBER 2017
  • Wells, Wells Film Centre, Thu 27 April 2017
  • Wotton-Under-Edge, the Electric Picture House, sun 5 March 2017
  • Upton, Upton Village Hall, Fri 20 October 2017
  • Bucknell, RedLake Village Hall, Tue 23 May 2017
  • Hereford, The Courtyard, Sun 12 March 2017
  • Ludlow, Ludlow Assembly Rooms, Sun 5 March 2017
  • Ludlow, Ashford Carbonell Village Hall. Fri 19 May 2017
  • Malvern, Malvern Theatres, Tue 21 March 2017
  • Pershore, Number 8 Community and Arts Centre, Fri 28 July 2017
  • Leeds, Leeds Children and Young People’s Film Festival, Wed 19 April 2017
  • Leyburn, leyburn Arts, Tue 2 May 2017
  • Pocklington, Pocklington Arts Centre, Fri 3 February 2017
  • Thirsk, Rural Arts (The Courthouse), fri 22 September 2017